Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Tell Me about When Moms and Dads Go to Jail

    Tell Me about When Moms and Dads Go to Jail

    by Judi Goozh and Sue Jeweler

    "This book will help you understand what is happening to your mom or dad who goes to jail..." Ideal for use with children aged 6-11, this is an invaluable resource for supporting the wellbeing of children whose parent is incarcerated. It explains what jail is like and why some people have to go there, while reassuring children that their parent loves them, is safe, and is working hard to come home again. Included are activities to help children manage their feelings, tips for parents and professionals on how best... More info

    $23.99 Add to Cart
  • Mind Over Mood: Change How You Feel by Changing the Way You Think

    Mind Over Mood: Change How You Feel by Changing the Way You Think

    by D Greenberger & C Padesky

    In this influential bestseller, Dr. Dennis Greenberger and Dr. Christine A. Padesky put the proven tools of cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) into an accessible self-help framework that has already helped more than 1,000,000 readers. Step-by-step worksheets (which purchasers can download and print for repeated use) teach effective skills for conquering depression, panic attacks, anxiety, anger, guilt, shame, low self-esteem, eating disorders, substance abuse, and relationship problems. Vivid stories demonstrate the techniques in action; the large-size format facilitates reading and writing ease. Revised and expanded to reflect significant developments in CBT in the past... More info

    $50.99 Add to Cart
  • Simple Guide to Child Trauma: What It Is and How to Help

    Simple Guide to Child Trauma: What It Is and How to Help

    by Betsy de Thierry

    What is trauma? How does it affect children? How can adults help? Providing straightforward answers to these complex questions, The Simple Guide to Child Trauma is the perfect starting point for any adult caring for or working with a child who has experienced trauma. It will help them to understand more about a child's emotional and behavioural responses following trauma and provides welcome strategies to aid recovery. Reassuring advice will also rejuvenate adults' abilities to face the challenges of supporting children. *Contents:* 1: Understanding trauma. 2: The impact of trauma. 3: Helping a... More info

    $20.99 Add to Cart