Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • The Handbook of Sandplay Therapy

    The Handbook of Sandplay Therapy

    by Barbara A. Turner

    The Handbook of Sandplay Therapy comprehensively explains and illustrates the theory, process and procedures of Jungian sandplay therapy. Developed as an in-depth text and reference work, The Handbook examines sandplay from psychological, mythological, and neurobiological paradigms in order to cultivate understanding of how sandplay brings about change in child and adult patients. Throughout the author maintains a profound respect for the individual development of the therapist and the qualitative impact of the clinical relationship on the healing and transformational aspects of sandplay therapy. Thorough in content and richly illustrated, The Handbook... More info

    $60.50 Add to Cart
  • The New Handbook of Cognitive Therapy Techniques

    The New Handbook of Cognitive Therapy Techniques

    by Rian E. McMullin

    This how-to reference provides the therapist with an immediately usable guide to cognitive therapy. It describes, explains, and demonstrates over a hundred cognitive therapy techniques, offering for each the theoretical basis, a thumbnail description of the method, case examples, and resources for further information. Cognitive restructuring therapy is based on the truth: If we change our thoughts, we change ourselves. It tackles, with logic, persistence, and creativity, the distorted beliefs underlying our emotional responses to everyday events. With dozens of soft, hard, and objective countering techniques, as well as methods... More info

    $64.95 Add to Cart
  • The Tapping Solution

    The Tapping Solution

    by Nick Ortner

    Do you have things in your life that you wish were different . . . but you don't know how to change? The Tapping Solution offers a new technique to deal with seemingly impossible situations.  Tapping, also known as *Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT),* is a powerful tool for improving your life on multiple levels: from anxiety, chronic pain, addiction, and fear, to weight control, financial abundance, stress relief, and so much more.  It's also one of the easiest and fastest practices to learn.  You can learn it in minutes,... More info

    $20.95 Add to Cart