Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Cool Connections with Cognitive Behavioural Therapy: Encouraging Self-esteem, Resilience and Well-being in Children and Young People

    Cool Connections with Cognitive Behavioural Therapy: Encouraging Self-esteem, Resilience and Well-being in Children and Young People

    by Laurie Seiler

    Cool Connections is a fun, engaging workbook that provides a cognitive behaviour therapy (CBT) approach to positively modifying the everyday thoughts and behaviours of children and young people aged 9 to 14. Combining a summary of CBT principles and step-by-step guidelines on how to use the materials appropriately with a mixture of games, handouts, home activities and therapeutic exercises, Cool Connections is designed to encourage resilience and self-esteem and reduce feelings of anxiety and depression. Fully photocopiable, fully illustrated and easy to use, this structured workbook is an effective tool for... More info

    $43.95 Add to Cart
  • Supporting People with Intellectual Disabilities Experiencing Loss and Bereavement: Theory and Compassionate Practice

    Supporting People with Intellectual Disabilities Experiencing Loss and Bereavement: Theory and Compassionate Practice

    by Sue Read

    Exploring contemporary theory and practice surrounding loss and bereavement for people with intellectual disabilities (ID), this book brings together international contributors with a range of academic, professional and personal experience. This authoritative edited book looks at diverse experiences of loss across this population whether it be loss due to transition, the loss or death of others, or facing their own impending death. The book begins by offering theoretical perspectives on loss and compassion, bereavement, disenfranchised grief, spirituality, and psychological support. It then addresses contemporary practice issues in health and social care... More info

    $59.99 Add to Cart
  • The Little Red Yellow Black Book: An Introduction to Indigenous Australia Third Edition

    The Little Red Yellow Black Book: An Introduction to Indigenous Australia Third Edition

    by ASP

    A perfect starting point for those who want to know about Australia’s rich indigenous cultures but don’t know where to begin. An updated, authoritative introduction to Indigenous Australia small-format, highly illustrated, accessibly written includes history, culture, arts, sport, languages, population, health, participation in education and the workforce, governance, resistance and reconciliation real-life case studies provides a stepping-off point for further reading book and companion website short-listed for the Australian Publishers Association Educational Awards, Secondary Teachers Resources, 2009. *About the Author* The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies is the world’s premier... More info

    $19.95 Add to Cart