Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • The Asperger Teen's Toolkit

    The Asperger Teen's Toolkit

    by Francis Musgrave

    With minimal text and fun, comic book style graphics, this is a treasure trove of information for young people with Asperger Syndrome and their carers. Exploring the science of how the human mind works, it gives handy tips on how to cope with all elements of the adult world, including responsibilities, health, sex and relationships. Dealing with the everyday realities facing teens with Asperger Syndrome, this book presents a toolkit of tried-and-trusted ideas to help them work through difficulties and find the solutions that work best for them. This book... More info

    $30.99 Add to Cart
  • Interventions for Body Image and Eating Disorders: Evidence and Practice

    Interventions for Body Image and Eating Disorders: Evidence and Practice

    by Susan j Paxton

    Body image and eating disorders are not only widespread but the cause of high levels of burden within Western societies. However, over recent years, prevention, early intervention, and treatment options have expanded to address the complex presentations of these disorders, and the evaluation research for these approaches has also grown. Few texts draw together the wide range of evidence-based interventions in this field in a manner that can assist the health professional to choose and implement the treatment that is most likely to be effective. The aim of this... More info

    $76.95 Add to Cart
  • Attachment-Focused Family Therapy Workbook

    Attachment-Focused Family Therapy Workbook

    by Daniel A. Hughes

    A practical workbook companion to Attachment-Focused Family Therapy, the best-selling text that brought attachment into the realm of family therapy. Daniel A. Hughes, a leading practitioner in his field, specializes in an attachment-oriented approach to family therapy. Applying his model to children and families with a range of psychological problems, this book distills just the clinical strategies, offering practitioners a host of practical exercises and interventions on the core skills of his treatment program. An accompanying DVD demonstrates Hughes putting these strategies to work in a therapy session, revealing the undeniable power... More info

    $43.95 Add to Cart