Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Dictionary of Social Work

    Dictionary of Social Work

    by John Pierson and Martin Thomas

    Great reference material that defines the A to Z of Social Work and Social Care. With over 1500 entries, this popular dictionary provides concise and up to date explanations of the theories, approaches and terminology that define front-line social work and social care. These entries explain, in jargon-free language, how key concepts can be used to improve practice. Clear explanations outline significant developments such as Every Child Matters and the personalization of adult services. Entries are helpfully cross referenced and are evidence based. They reflect professional values and are written by specialists... More info

    $58.95 Add to Cart
  • Counseling Toward Solutions: A Practical Solution-Focused Program for Working with Students, Teachers, and Parents, 2nd Edition

    Counseling Toward Solutions: A Practical Solution-Focused Program for Working with Students, Teachers, and Parents, 2nd Edition

    by Linda Metcalf

    Step by step, this book shows how to help individual students begin their own change process by noticing when a problem does not occur - that is, when things go better than normal - rather than focusing on the problem or what caused it. This approach, called Solution-Focused Brief Therapy, has been used by private counsellors and therapists and is now being applied in K-12 schools with great success. In this book veteran school counsellor Linda Metcalf offers guidelines for dealing with specific problems ranging from incomplete homework to... More info

    $49.94 Add to Cart
  • Presentation Zen: Simple Ideas on Presentation Design and Delivery

    Presentation Zen: Simple Ideas on Presentation Design and Delivery

    by Garr Reynolds

    Garr Reynolds, author of the best-selling book on presentation design and delivery with over 150,000 copies sold, is back with this newly revised edition of his classic book, Presentation Zen. Showing us there is a better way to reach the audience through simplicity and storytelling, Garr tackles the conventional wisdom of making 'slide presentations' and shares his approach to designing and delivering successful and provocative presentations. In this new edition, Garr includes fresh examples from which to draw inspiration, and offers techniques for cutting through the noise and distractions of... More info

    $52.25 Add to Cart