Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Building Children's Resilience: Essential Tips for Parents of Children birth-12

    Building Children's Resilience: Essential Tips for Parents of Children birth-12

    by Maggie Dent

    An essential pocket guide to Maggie's 10 Essential Resilience Building Blocks. Every parent wants their child to grow up happy, healthy, strong, kind and resilient. This book aims to guide parents in their everyday decision-making to raise kids who are just that. In our ever-changing world it is important to understand what resilience is and how to build it in our children. The capacity for building coping and enabling abilities, as well as help-seeking strategies and tangible life skills will help your children navigate the world ahead. The book condenses and... More info

    $15.95 Add to Cart
  • ASD and Me Picture Book: A Visual Guide to Understanding Challenges and Strengths for Children on the Autism Spectrum

    ASD and Me Picture Book: A Visual Guide to Understanding Challenges and Strengths for Children on the Autism Spectrum

    by Joel Shaul

    Children with ASDs often find it difficult to identify the things they find difficult and, more importantly, to recognize the things they are good at. This colourful book provides simple self-exploration tools to help children identify their strengths and begin to tackle the things they find harder. The book explores a range of common difficulties, including communication, emotional and sensory regulation, and executive functioning, encouraging children to explore their personal challenges and abilities in an engaging and positive way. Illustrated with hundreds of cartoon-style graphics and containing a wealth of... More info

    $33.99 Add to Cart
  • Treating Attachment Disorders: From Theory to Therapy 2ed

    Treating Attachment Disorders: From Theory to Therapy 2ed

    by Karl Heinz Brisch

    Organized around extended case illustrations—and grounded in cutting-edge theory and research—this highly regarded book shows how an attachment perspective can inform psychotherapeutic practice with patients of all ages. Karl Heinz Brisch explores the links between early experiences of separation, loss, and trauma and a range of psychological, behavioural, and psychosomatic problems. He demonstrates the basic techniques of attachment-based assessment and intervention, emphasizing the healing power of the therapeutic relationship. With a primary focus on treating infants and young children and their caregivers, the book discusses applications of attachment-based psychotherapy over the entire... More info

    $56.95 Add to Cart