Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Retelling the Stories of Our Lives: Everyday Narrative Therapy to Draw Inspiration and Transform Experience

    Retelling the Stories of Our Lives: Everyday Narrative Therapy to Draw Inspiration and Transform Experience

    by David Denborough

    Powerful ideas from narrative therapy can teach us how to create new life stories and promote change. Our lives and their pathways are not fixed in stone; instead they are shaped by story. The ways in which we understand and share the stories of our lives therefore make all the difference. If we tell stories that emphasize only desolation, then we become weaker. If we tell our stories in ways that make us stronger, we can soothe our losses and ease our sorrows. Learning how to re-envision the... More info

    $32.95 Add to Cart
  • Integrated Family Intervention for Child Conduct Problems: A behaviour-attachment-systems intervention for parents

    Integrated Family Intervention for Child Conduct Problems: A behaviour-attachment-systems intervention for parents

    by Mark Dadds & David Hawes

    "Parents are often trapped in a coercive system in which the daily toll of dealing with misbehaviour leaves them with little positive emotion left to give. Even parents who have been trained in positive parenting fall short of showing enough attachment-rich behaviour. In this treatment program we emphasise interactions applied to non-problematic child behaviour that are rich in caring and shared time. The use of tokens and other artificial rewards are replaced by a focus on love, intimacy and acceptance." Integrated Family Intervention is a practitioner-focused practical and efficacious family-based... More info

    $79.50 Add to Cart
  • Practical Guide to Transformative Supervision for the Helping Professions: Amplifying Insight

    Practical Guide to Transformative Supervision for the Helping Professions: Amplifying Insight

    by Nicki Weld

    Supervision is a valuable protected space for personal and professional development that has the potential to contribute greatly to positive transformative change. This book explores what is meant by transformative supervision and how it can be undertaken. It examines the key factors that contribute to the transformative function, such as the role of observation and questioning, the importance of working with emotions, and exploring intuition. The book takes an in-depth look at the supervisory relationship and offers real examples from practice to illustrate the ideas in action. Offering a range of... More info

    $42.95 Add to Cart