Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$39.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Taking Charge of Anger: Six Steps to Asserting Yourself without Losing Control 2ed

    Taking Charge of Anger: Six Steps to Asserting Yourself without Losing Control 2ed

    by W Robert Nay

    This successful guide has already helped many tens of thousands of readers understand and manage out-of-control anger in all its forms, from passive–aggression to all-out rage. Dr. Robert Nay presents an effective six-step program grounded in the proven techniques of cognitive-behavioural therapy. Self-quizzes and exercises show how to immediately recognize anger's triggers and early warning signs—and master cooling-off strategies that work in the heat of the moment. By learning specific ways to defuse conflict and express their feelings calmly, readers can put a lid on destructive anger while appropriately asserting... More info

    $35.95 Add to Cart
  • What to Do When You're Cranky & Blue: A Guide for Kids

    What to Do When You're Cranky & Blue: A Guide for Kids

    by James Crist

    Everyone feels “down” sometimes. Who wouldn’t feel blue if their best friend moved away or if they were being teased or bullied in school? Counsellor and clinical psychologist James J. Crist has written a book that kids can turn to for support, encouragement, and ideas for coping when they feel bad, sad, grumpy, or lonely. Kids learn 10 “Blues Busters” to help shake those unhappy feelings. They also discover lots of ideas they can use to talk about feelings, take care of themselves, boost their self-esteem, make and keep... More info

    $22.50 Add to Cart
  • Dealing with Feeling 2ed (Incl CD-ROM) (New Edition of Bestseller)

    Dealing with Feeling 2ed (Incl CD-ROM) (New Edition of Bestseller)

    by Tina Rae

    This new edition of the bestselling Dealing with Feeling provides teachers of children aged 5-8 with structured opportunities to develop their emotional literacy and emotional well-being. As before, it is firmly supported by a wealth of research which links children's mental and physical health to the development of emotional literacy. In this second edition, Tina Rae emphasises the development of emotional literacy skills and specifically the development of an emotional vocabulary, empathy, tolerance, resilience and motivation. The focus upon managing more complex and uncomfortable feelings is central to the programme and... More info

    $99.00 Add to Cart