Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$39.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • What to Do When You Grumble Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Negativity

    What to Do When You Grumble Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Negativity

    by Dawn Huebner and Bonnie Matthe

    What to Do When You Grumble Too Much guides children and their parents through the cognitive-behavioural techniques used to treat negative thinking. Lively metaphors and illustrations help kids see life's hurdles in a new way, while drawing and writing activities help them master skills to get over those hurdles. And step-by-step instructions point the way toward becoming happier, more positive kids. This interactive self-help book is the complete resource for educating, motivating, and empowering children to work toward change. Includes a Note to Parents and Caregivers by psychologist and author... More info

    $33.95 Add to Cart
  • What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety

    What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety

    by Dawn Huebner

    What to Do When You Worry Too Much is an interactive self-help book designed to guide 6-12 year olds and their parents through the cognitive-behavioural techniques most often used in the treatment of generalized anxiety. Metaphors and humorous illustrations make difficult concepts easy to understand, while prompts to draw and write help children to master new skills related to reducing anxiety. Engaging, encouraging, and easy to follow, this book educates, motivates, and empowers children to work towards change. Includes a note to parents by psychologist and author Dawn Huebner, PhD. For... More info

    $31.95 Add to Cart
  • Empathy: Promoting Resilience and Emotional Intelligence for Students Aged 7 to 10 years

    Empathy: Promoting Resilience and Emotional Intelligence for Students Aged 7 to 10 years

    by Bob Bellhouse

    Includes CD-Rom Empathy is a fundamental building block for the positive development and mental health of children. It is central to the development of conscience, love, friendship and kindness. This programme supports the encouragement and teaching of empathy and resilience and schools will reap the benefits in their students' achievements. Identifying key elements that help young people to develop empathic feelings and behaviour, it helps schools to: create structures that promote connectedness and belonging provide learning experiences that build excitement about learning and hopefulness and possibility for their futures Activities include 'The... More info

    $77.50 Add to Cart