Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$39.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Treating Childhood and Adolescent Anxiety: A Guide for Caregivers

    Treating Childhood and Adolescent Anxiety: A Guide for Caregivers

    by Eli R. Lebowitz, Haim Omer

    Every child experiences fear, but when a child experiences fear so consistently that it affects their daily function or wellbeing, it becomes highly likely that an anxiety disorder is to blame. This book shows clinicians how to effectively use evidence-based techniques such as exposure therapy, CBT, and mindfulness to alleviate children's anxiety. Drawing on clinical experience and professional research, Treating the Anxious Child offers both a framework for understanding the dynamics at play for fearful children, as well as evidence-based guidelines for treating them successfully through the inclusion of daily... More info

    $71.95 Add to Cart
  • How Do You Doodle? Drawing My Feelings and Emotions

    How Do You Doodle? Drawing My Feelings and Emotions

    by Elise Gravel

    They doodle when they are mad, they doodle when they are glad, and they doodle when they are sad. They doodle just about anything they want! What about you? Do you doodle, too? How Do You Doodle? has over 40 doodle games for you to doodle, scribble, and draw out your thoughts, emotions, and feelings. You can draw or write whatever you want in this book — cute drawings, silly drawings, even ugly drawings. Be creative and express yourself! Your doodles will help you to understand and recognize your... More info

    $28.95 Add to Cart
  • Dealing with Feeling 2ed (Incl CD-ROM) (New Edition of Bestseller)

    Dealing with Feeling 2ed (Incl CD-ROM) (New Edition of Bestseller)

    by Tina Rae

    This new edition of the bestselling Dealing with Feeling provides teachers of children aged 5-8 with structured opportunities to develop their emotional literacy and emotional well-being. As before, it is firmly supported by a wealth of research which links children's mental and physical health to the development of emotional literacy. In this second edition, Tina Rae emphasises the development of emotional literacy skills and specifically the development of an emotional vocabulary, empathy, tolerance, resilience and motivation. The focus upon managing more complex and uncomfortable feelings is central to the programme and... More info

    $99.00 Add to Cart