Practice to make a difference.

Charlotte and the Quiet Place

Charlotte likes quiet. But wherever Charlotte goes, she is surrounded by noise, noise, noise — her yipping dog, Otto; the squeaky creaky swings; the warbling, wailing sirens. Even in the library, children yammer and yell. Where can Charlotte find a quiet place? Sara Woolley’s magnificent watercolors bring Charlotte’s city to life when Otto leads her on a wild chase through the park. There, Charlotte discovers a quiet place where she never would have imagined!

Sometimes children need a break from our noisy, overstimulating world. Charlotte and the Quiet Place shows how a child learns and practices mindful breathing on her own and experiences the beauty of silence. All children can relate to the unfolding adventure and message of self-discovery and empowerment. Parents, teachers, and caretakers of highly active or sensitive children will find this story especially useful.

Discussion Guide

Awards:

  • 2015 INDIEFAB Book of the Year Award – Gold Winner
  • 2015 National Parenting Publications (NPPA) – Bronze Award Winner
  • 2016 Independent Publisher Book Award (IPPY) – Silver Medal Winner
Author Bio:

Deborah Sosin, MSW is a writer and clinical social worker specializing in mindfulness based psychotherapy. She lives with her two very quiet cats outside Boston Massachusetts.

Sarah Woolley is an award-winning artist living and working amidst the hubbub of Brooklyn, New York. 

 

 

 

Charlotte and the Quiet Place

Author: Deborah Sosin

$33.95 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Magic Me: Yoga, A Magical Gift for All Ages

    Magic Me: Yoga, A Magical Gift for All Ages

    by Jane Lee Wiesner

    MAGIC ME is the second in a series of books (Who am I? being the first) by author Jane Wiesner to introduce children and adults to the magic of yoga. It is primarily a children's picture book for anyone interested in yoga - it is simply an interactive journey of fun for all age groups. Information has recently come to light on childhood obesity and depression. Yoga can help to remedy these problems by building physical stamina as well as emotional strength. It tones the body and helps... More info

    $19.99 Add to Cart
  • Zero

    Zero

    by Kathryn Otoshi

    Zero is a big round number. When she looks at herself, she just sees a hole right in her center. Every day she watches the other numbers line up to count: "1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 . . . !" "Those numbers have value. That's why they count," she thinks. But how could a number worth nothing become something? Zero feels empty inside. She watches One having fun with the other numbers. One has bold strokes and squared corners. Zero is big and round with... More info

    $29.99 Add to Cart
  • When I'm Feeling Angry

    When I'm Feeling Angry

    by Trace Moroney

    When you're really angry you feel like you're going to explode.  It's okay to be angry sometimes, as long as you don't hurt anyone.  What do you do when your child is feeling angry?  In Notes for Parents at the back of the book, a child psychologist offers some helpful insights. Collect all the books in the FEELINGS SERIES: When I'm Feeling Happy[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/children/when-i-m-feeling-happy/] When I'm Feeling Kind[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/education/emotions/when-i-m-feeling-kind/] When I'm Feeling Jealous[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/education/emotions/when-i-m-feeling-jealous/] When I'm Feeling Lonely[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/books/when-i-m-feeling-lonely/] When I'm Feeling Loved[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/health/when-i-m-feeling-loved/] When I'm Feeling Sad[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/books/when-i-m-feeling-sad/] When I'm Feeling Scared[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/health/when-i-m-feeling-scared/] More info

    $14.95 Add to Cart