Practice to make a difference.

Kayak Girl

In Kayak Girl a young child learns to cope with serious loss by focusing on something larger than herself. After Jana and acirc’s mother dies, she becomes withdrawn. Her grandfather, a carver, pays the girl a visit and finds her unresponsive to his care. He carves a figure of a girl in a kayak and asks Jana to promise that she will watch for the figure after he releases it upriver. Through the following seasons, Jana goes to the river daily and finds strength in the positive memories from her short time with her mother, even as she imagines the distant kayak girl and acirc’s struggles. Eventually, they are reunited, and Jana and acirc’s spirit is revived. Throughout the book, watercolour illustrations take readers to a magical place along an Alaska river and demonstrate the power of memory and a sense of place in the natural world.

Monica Devine is the author of several books for children and for 25 years she worked as a speech-language pathologist, traveling to Indian and Eskimo villages throughout

Kayak Girl

Author: Monica Devine

$25.95 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • When I'm Feeling Lonely

    When I'm Feeling Lonely

    by Trace Moroney

    Lots of things can make you feel lonely.  It's not a nice feeling, but just remember that everyone feels that way sometimes! What do you do when your child feels lonely? In Notes for Parents at the back of the book, a child psychologist offers some helpful insights Collect all the books in the FEELINGS SERIES: When I'm Feeling Angry[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/children/when-i-m-feeling-angry/] When I'm Feeling Happy[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/children/when-i-m-feeling-happy/] When I'm Feeling Jealous[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/education/emotions/when-i-m-feeling-jealous/] When I'm Feeling Kind[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/education/emotions/when-i-m-feeling-kind/] When I'm Feeling Loved[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/health/when-i-m-feeling-loved/] When I'm Feeling Sad[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/books/when-i-m-feeling-sad/] When I'm Feeling Scared[http://www.lighthouseresources.com.au/bookshop/health/when-i-m-feeling-scared/] More info

    $14.95 Add to Cart
  • Through the Gate

    Through the Gate

    by Sally Fawcett

    Through the Gate tells the story of a child who has just moved house and is struggling to cope with all the changes in her life. She relates to the dilapidated house she has moved to, as she sits sad and forlorn upon its broken front step. But, as the story unfolds, the house is gradually repaired paralleling how the child’s perception of her new situation improves. Each time the child passes ‘through the gate’, into the world beyond, she notices more of her surroundings and discovers that her... More info

    $25.99 Add to Cart
  • No Excuses! How What You Say Can Get In Your Way

    No Excuses! How What You Say Can Get In Your Way

    by Wayne Dyer

    In his fourth book for children, Dr. Wayne W. Dyer focuses on the topic of excuses and how they can do more harm than we realize. The book demonstrates how excuses go far beyond “my dog ate my homework,” and can actually become words that prevent your child from reaching his or her potential. The book follows a boy with a seemingly impossible dream who almost lets excuses (“I’m not smart enough” . . . “It’s too hard,” and so on) get in his way. He discovers, as... More info

    $21.50 Add to Cart